Skip to content

What teachers are saying about the You’ve been Sentenced! game

March 8, 2011

This just arrived in my inbox today!

“I teach six sections of writing at Arrowhead Union High School in Hartland, Wisconsin. I have three sections of Advanced Composition and three sections of Creative Writing (with a total of about 150 students each semester). In my courses, everything the students complete is for a writing competition, publication or other authentic purpose. In order help the students perfect their writing skills and get their pieces ready for a publication or competition, I use some games. Currently, my students are obsessed with “You’ve Been Sentenced.” We use this game to learn and practice the parts of speech, to create topic sentences and to develop writing prompts and vocabulary.

Over 90% of my students are seniors. Especially at this time of the year, my students are burned out, frustrated and itching for college. However, I’ve seen games have a positive impact on their learning and interest level.”

Liz Jorgensen
Language Arts Instructor
English Teacher

Arrowhead Union High School

Do you have a story to share about how you’ve used games in the classroom? We’d love to hear it. Simply email me at susanmcneill6@comcast.net

Want to learn more about McNeill Designs for Brighter Minds’ award-winning, educational games like You’ve been Sentenced!Twisted Fish and more? Visit McNeill Designs for game rulesprintable score sheets, or even order online.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

